Beatitudes of my life

Being grateful for everything in my life…. no matter what…

I don’t have a Bucket List November 25, 2013

Filed under: Blessings,Family,Life Balance,Random Thoughts — beatitudesofmylife @ 5:10 pm
Tags:

Yup… you read correctly… I don’t have a Bucket List.  Is that weird?  Am I in the minority because I don’t have a list of life goals and dreams that I want to do before I die?  When did this become such a hot topic of conversation?

I have to say that I really liked the movie (The Bucket List).  The idea that two guys, who had nothing more in common than the fact that they were facing their own mortality, would help one another fulfill their lifelong dreams is really sweet.  Add actors, played by Morgan Freeman and Jack Nicholson, who were already ridiculously famous and played seemingly opposite characters and I was laughing and crying along with them through to the end.  It was great… but it didn’t push me to want to create my own list of goals and dreams.

The Urban Dictionary describes a “Bucket List” as a list of things you want to accomplish before you die… that it comes from the phrase “kicked the bucket”.   If you type in a simple Google search for “Bucket List”, you’ll find a number of different websites devoted to just such a goal.  You can decide to simply pick and choose from a list of 10.000 various things that some random person decided that everyone should do (or want to do) before they die… but is that truly a Bucket List or is it just a list of cool-sounding things to do that you wouldn’t have thought of on your own?  Are you, then, striving to complete someone else’s Bucket List instead of compiling one of your own?

And again I ask…. am I weird for not having one… not wanting one?

I have a friend who has some pretty interesting things on her bucket list:  Jump out of an airplane… Eat in an exclusive restaurant of a famous chef… Tour the California wine country… Live near the beach…  These are all very cool things to do, but now that she’s done a bunch of them, is she obligated to replace them with newer and bigger goals?  When is a Bucket List done?  Do you ever stop adding to your Bucket List?

I know this seems like a random posting for the week of Thanksgiving.  I should be following along with my friends who are posting each day on their FB page, sharing their thoughts on things for which they are thankful, right?  The messages have been sweet to read… but for some reason this year they hit me differently.  Maybe it simply has to do with where I am in my life at the moment.

Please indulge me a moment, but I feel so blessed with the life I have that I wonder if creating a Bucket List would simply be tempting fate.  My marriage is strong and makes me feel as if I can accomplish anything as long as I have my husband by my side.  Both of my sons are following their dreams and striving to create good, honest, positive, and productive lives of their own.  I have a job that I adore and cherish, maybe more than is normal, but it’s a perfect fit for me and my talents.  My photography hobby (which I look upon as a job from a dedication standpoint, but is definitely not something from which I could make a living at this point) fills my creative needs and allows me to be “the girl on the sidelines” of some pretty awesome sporting events.  I truly cannot think of anything that would or could possibly turn the life I lead now into something “better” simply by checking some boxes on a list.

I write this down with a great deal of trepidation.  Reading the previous paragraph regarding my life makes me sound so “Pollyanna” about everything and that’s really not what I’m trying to say here.  I started this blog almost two years ago with the idea of giving credence to all the positive things in my life because I believe that it’s become easier to look at all that’s wrong or not “perfect” in our lives.  I worry, if I were trying to create a Bucket List of my own, that I might begin to focus on what’s not in my life as opposed to seeing all the blessings that already exist.  While others may find great enjoyment in coming up with lists of things-to-do and people-to-see, it all seems so unnecessary to me.  

But maybe that’s the point of a Bucket List?  Is it a list that will allow me to name goals and dreams toward which I strive and in which I find fulfillment?  I feel as if I’m really reaching here, but maybe a Bucket List isn’t something that’s for me.  I think that instead of trying to create my Bucket List, I’m actually living it instead.  Can that be it?

 

4 Responses to “I don’t have a Bucket List”

  1. I don’t personally like the label “Bucket List” because it seems like you’re throwing things out or just dumping stuff in. Memories shouldn’t be like checkboxes. Of course, it’s important to set goals and plan for the future. But it’s important to live in the present, as well, and be grateful for blessings and hope for the future! 🙂

  2. I so get this! So happy for you and your family. I feel the same way.


Leave a Reply

