Beatitudes of my life

Being grateful for everything in my life…. no matter what…

Recipe: Chicken and Potatoes with BACON January 10, 2014

Filed under: Cooking — beatitudesofmylife @ 5:46 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Since this recipe doesn’t qualify as one made with wine (which would place it on my other blog, www.fromthebottomofawinebottle.wordpress.com), I thought I’d share it here.  This was a simple, easy, and delicious dinner that we had last night.  Since bacon is the star ingredient, how much better could it be?

I started with the idea of making dinner using a package of chicken breasts (three total in the package), four potatoes, and a pound of bacon.  Slice each chicken breast in half, lengthwise, and roll each in a mixture of garlic salt, paprika, and brown sugar, before winding a slice of bacon around the breast and placing it on a greased baking sheet.  Repeat with all six chicken breast “sticks”.  While preparing the chicken, plan to bake the remaining strips of bacon on a rack (I baked everything at 375 degrees) until it’s done to your preferred degree of crispiness and crumble to add later to the roasted potatoes.

 

BaconDinner

To make roasted potatoes, diced the potatoes and then par-boil them for 10 minutes and drain.  Into the warm pan of cooked potato pieces, add a mixture of olive oil, garlic, herbs, and salt.  Allow these to sit for a bit before getting ready to roast the potato pieces along with the chicken wrapped in bacon.  

Forty-five minutes or so before you plan to have dinner,  pop the chicken in the oven and pour the potato mixture onto a prepared baking sheet and allow both to roast for about 30 minutes.  When things start to smell yummy, sprinkle the bacon pieces over the roasted potatoes and allow things to roast along for another 15 minutes or so.

As with all my recipes, I use The Force when I cook.  I may start out with something that has specific directions, but I can always be counted upon to deviate from the original – it just goes against my grain to follow something without adding my own little touch.  Feel free to do the same with this recipe if you decide to try it.  I have no idea how much of the garlic salt, paprika and brown sugar I used… I just poured a bunch of each into a single bowl and then tossed it together so everything would be meshed well together.  Same with the potatoes… I poured some olive oil into a small bowl and added garlic, herbs, and salt before adding that to the diced potatoes.  It’s a fun way to personalize your dinners.  Make things like this into a new family favorite… YOUR family favorite!

Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

