Beatitudes of my life

Being grateful for everything in my life…. no matter what…

It’s a new day April 14, 2014

Filed under: Blessings,Family,Life Balance — beatitudesofmylife @ 8:52 am
Tags: , ,

As some of you may know, we recently relocated our family from RVA (Richmond, VA) to Maryland.  While I apologize for not blogging about this transition sooner, there were so many other things that needed my attention and my computer simply had to take a back seat to those more urgent requirements.   To go day-by-day from offer to move would be an effort in futility, since nothing can be changed by looking backward at mis-steps, so I will choose to look forward… as soon as I can move through the memories of our life in RVA.  BeltmanMovingTruck

We could not have found a more perfect place to raise our two boys into the men they have become, especially when looking at the people with whom we surrounded ourselves.  In the week of our actual move, we had people stopping by to offer fellowship, food, and best wishes on our upcoming travels.  Each visit, phone call, or email was a reminder that we made a good life for our family in Richmond.  While I’m sure I was remiss in the extent of my appreciation, it’s my fervent wish that each had some idea of just how deeply I was touched by their presence.

As the Beltman Moving truck (pictured) pulled away with all our belongings, headed for storage in Jessup, MD, it hit me… we were leaving the one place where our family had truly been created.  The boys went to Middle and High schools in this area… my husband built the bulk of his career here… my own career of wine, blogging, and sports photography was born here.  To simply toss all that away in a rushed move, and dismiss our life in Virginia, would be to extend an enormous disservice to those who allowed each one of us to grow into the people we are today.  Friends, neighbors, and even simple acquaintances share in the creation of each of us… both as individuals and as a family.  Struggles and triumphs were commiserated and celebrated in turn.  We couldn’t have become the people who stand before you this day without every single positive and negative situation, as they each combined to make us stronger, better, compassionate, and unique.  I will never be able to think on the life we created in Richmond, VA. without smiling and becoming a bit misty.  We have been blessed… and we know it.

But it’s a new day.

We are currently ensconced in a lovely apartment, just a few miles away from M’s new office.  Our house in VA will soon be on the market (with a first floor master bedroom) and we’re beginning our search for our next home somewhere in MD.  It’s a little daunting, but we are so grateful for this opportunity to be closer to family and for M to begin his next career phase.   I’ll do my best to be better about blogging in general – sharing the trials and tribulations of a move such as this will definitely be a challenge, but one to which we are looking forward.

My mantra, throughout the chaos of moving, has been to simply remember to breathe… so I think I’ll sit down and do that for a little while this morning before I try and tackle the world.  Breathe in… and breathe out… So simple, yet sometimes it’s the hardest thing to remember.

It’s a new day… Rejoice and be glad in it!

 

3 Responses to “It’s a new day”

  1. Annie Chace Says:

    Glad all went smoothly!

  2. Definitely not the smoothest of transitions, but we’re working things out. Thanks for your continued good thoughts… I think my next blog post may be about real estate agents… 😉

  3. leka305 Says:

    Breathe, rejoice and be glad.
    A gracious way to greet the day and all that it brings.


Leave a Reply

